Ada Yonath

2009 Nobel Prize in Chemistry | Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel


Ada Yonath is best known for her pioneering work on the structure of the ribosome. She is the current director of the Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly of the Weizmann Institute of Science. In 2009, she received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry along with Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Thomas A. Steitz, for her studies on the structure and function of the ribosome. 

Photo by Hareesh N. Nampoothiri, under under CC BY SA 3.0 license

Supporting organizations

Show all